Day 13: A song that reminds you of a former friend.

Monday, January 13th, 2014

This song reminds me of this girl I grew up with way back in elementary/middle school before my family moved out of the neighborhood we lived in. A year later her family moved to Colorado right before we went to high school so our friendship ended up dwindling away. This song was something she learned to play on the piano (she was an epic piano player) and performed for a school talent show when I was in 7th grade and she asked me to sing with her but I was too afraid. Looking back, I wish I had sung with her, it would have been wonderful experience and I know I would have enjoyed it.

Over all the years growing up, we made up so many dances to different songs in my front yard and drove our little brothers crazy by making them watch. We used to create these “End of Summer Shows” and would put on a huge talent show for our neighbors on our street. I loved every minute growing up with this girl and I’m sad to say our friendship ended. We reconnected on Facebook but it’s way past the point of rekindling the magic of childhood friendship. I can only hope my future children have a fantastic neighborhood friend like I had with her.

Leave a Reply

